Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> MCL Tear 2nd or 3rd degree, Treatment

2girls
post May 3 2008, 09:55 AM
Post #1

User Level

Group: Members
Member No.: 115,674

Three weeks ago I went to the ER after stopping very suddenly while running playing softball. They told me it was probably a MCL tear. No MRI. Just XRAY. Nothing broken. I got crutches and immobilizer. I could not walk. When it happened I heard it pop and so did others. It was excruciating. I iced it a lot for a week and stayed totally off of it for 2 weeks. My swelling is better but there is still some residual swelling. Up until last night, I have done no ROM exercises. I have only done leg lifts, calf raises...stuff that doesn't require the knee to bend. I am lucky if I have a 45 degree bend in my knee right now. I can't full straighten it either. I did some squats with my back against the wall last night and also when sitting in a chair scooted forward with my feet planted. I did it to a point of discomfort but not beyond that. This morning my knee seems more swollen. Also, there has been continued swelling at the top of my knee on the outside of it (anterior lateral apical). I understand swelling remaining in the medial portion where my MCL is which is still tender to pressure by the way, but why is there still swelling in the anterior lateral apical portion of the injured knee? I have been walking arouind without the immobilizer or crutches today and yesterday, but it is a limp. I can put all my weight on the hurt leg (Left one). But my ROM is so limited. I am very distraught about this and need to know what to do to make this better. Of course I can't pivot or anything and a couple of times it has felt like it wanted to give out on me because I moved too quickly and mindlessly moved it a way I probably shouldn't have. I hurt it at night almost every night by jerking in my sleep and wake up in pain. I don't sleep with the immobilizer on. I am very disturbed because I have heard so many conflicting